Word count – 3/20/2017

Today’s word count: 1621, which sounds like a lot, but only 549 of those words were text on the draft. The other 1072 were outlining the rest of the novel. It’s easier to rack up words in outlining, because it’s basically idea-dumping without any need for word-craft.

This is actually pretty exciting. I’ve started the second chapter past the midpoint, and I have a very solid idea about what will happen in each chapter between here and the end of the book. I’m also within a stone’s throw of 60k words, so I’m expecting the final draft to weigh in somewhere around 95k-100k. That’s a little over my target of 85k, but it means I’m at least in the ballpark. 15k words of trimming shouldn’t be too difficult.

Leave a Reply

